Time Charters Masterclass Online

BIMCO-TC-Masterclass-Online
  • 14 Dec 2020 5 days
  • Available seats 12
  • Payment: visa visa visa visa

Course price

BIMCO member From EUR 1150
Non-member From EUR 1550

Discounts

10% group discount is available for registering 3 or more participants from the same company. 

Overview

Time Charters Masterclass Online is a series of 10 online sessions delivered over 5 days. Each day will run for 120 minutes with a short break in between and will cover essential time chartering issues.

What will you learn?

Time charters is a complex business. The shipowners give the time charterers substantial control over the commercial operation of the vessel in exchange for the regular payment of hire.

Under time charter, shipowners rely heavily on the financial standing of the charterers both in relation to the payment of hire and in relation to the indemnity, which the charterers have promised should the shipowners suffer any costs, damage, losses or liability as a result of carrying out the charterers’ orders. Similarly, the charterers rely heavily on the shipowners’ ability to provide them with the agreed service throughout the charter period as they will be entering into sub-contracts with third parties in reliance on such ability.

The aim of this course is to highlight the various problem areas and to consider ways in which parties attempt to allocate risk and so provide you with a balanced understanding of the relevant legal principles and practice.

Dates and Topics

 Monday, 14 December  Session 1 The NYPE charterparty: three in a marriage 
   Session 2  Putting the contract together
 Tuesday, 15 December  Session 3  NYPE – the main issues
   Session 4  The charterparty period – early and late redelivery and illegitimate voyage orders
 Wednesday, 16 December  Session 5  The payment of hire – withdrawal and deductions
   Session 6  Offhire and breach
 Thursday, 17 December  Session 7  Charterparty bills of lading – the basics
   Session 8  Letters of indemnity
 Friday, 18 December  Session 9  Arbitration: the do’s and don’ts
   Session 10  Case study
Starting time (for all sessions):

07:00 Vancouver (PST)
09:00 Houston (CST)
10:00 New York/Montréal (EST)
12:00 Santiago/Buenos Aires (CLST/ART)
15:00 London (GMT)
16:00 Copenhagen (CET)
17:00 Athens (EET)
19:00 Dubai (GST)

What do participants say about the course? 

The choice of the trainer was spot on to turn a quite dry material into a very accessible course. The training was focused on some of the greater "pain" factors in the industry and was very practical. Highly recommendable.” (Time Charters Masterclass participant, Sept 2020)

The course has made me think differently about issues and disputes I currently face.” (Time Charters Masterclass participant, Sept 2020)

Course programme

How will this course help your professional development?

This course will assist you in identifying the potential challenges in advance and enable you to ask the right questions to the parties involved, thereby helping you to understand and explain your own risks and exposures.


After the course, you will have a have a much deeper understanding of the fundamental functions of charter parties and how they fit into commercial shipping operations. You will be able to discuss legal issues with your superiors, P&I clubs or legal counsels.

This course is targeted for shipping professionals who are relatively new to commercial shipping or those working in shipping operation, chartering or law, who require refreshers on TC.

Course certification

Participants will be given an option of taking a final assessment (1-hour open-book test) at the end of the course, and Certificate of Achievement will be issued with a grade (distinction, merit or pass). Those not taking the assessment will receive a Certificate of Attendance.

Course materials

BIMCO issues electronic course files as an Adobe PDF file enabling you to make personal notes. All documentation and presentations will be in English. Course access details will be provided once the registration is completed.

You will also receive access to BIMCO's eLearning modules on "Time Chartering" and "NYPE 2015: Key changes and features".

Speakers

Jon Elvey

Jonathan Elvey

Organiser

Peter Grube

 

Alternative dates & locations

  • Online, Online
  • 01 February, 2021 5 days
  • From EUR 1150
  • Available seats 15  
More info
  • Online, Online
  • 17 May, 2021 5 days
  • From EUR 1150
  • Available seats 15  
More info

Stay up to date

BIMCO’s training activities covers a wide range of maritime topics. Get updates on new courses and training opportunities.

Follow BIMCO training on

               

Need more information?

Peter Grube

Peter Grube, Head of Training